Skip to content
Free delivery on orders over £80
Free delivery on orders over £80
Andrea Dovizioso scores victory at Malaysian MotoGP!

Andrea Dovizioso scores victory at Malaysian MotoGP!

Andrea Dovizioso wins the Malaysian MotoGP, making it a record nine different race winners this season.

Andrea Dovizioso became MotoGP's record ninth different race winner of the season by claiming his first victory since 2009 at a wet and wild Sepang, in Malaysia.

The Italian - denied by Ducati team-mate Andrea Iannone in Austria - held firm in the lead group throughout the 19-lap race, delayed due to a storm and watched by a vocal 95,000 trackside fans.

Phillip Island winner Cal Crutchlow, Iannone and then world champion Marc Marquez later fell in the space of two laps, leaving Dovizioso in a direct victory duel with Valentino Rossi.

But Rossi ran wide on entry to Turn 1 on lap 15, allowing Dovizioso to sweep into the lead and immediately pull a safe gap, which he controlled to the chequered flag.

Rossi in turn finished almost nine-seconds clear of Yamaha team-mate Jorge Lorenzo, confirming the Italian as runner-up to Marquez in the world championship standings.

Marquez had rejoined in 15th after his fall, rising to eleventh at the finish.

Such incidents helped Hector Barbera and Loris Baz claim a dream fourth and fifth for the Avintia Ducati team, with Suzuki's Maverick Vinales - among the best in the dry - sixth in the wet.

Alvaro Bautista picked up more solid points for Aprilia with seventh. Jack Miller was unable to conjure up his Assen magic in eighth, as Tech 3 Yamaha's Pol Espargaro and Pramac Ducati's Danilo Petrucci rounded out the top ten.

With Scott Redding only 15th, Petrucci looks to have won their battle for the GP17 next season.

Eugene Laverty (Aspar Ducati), Aleix Espargaro (Suzuki) and Bradley Smith (Tech 3) finished between Marquez and Redding.

The Valencia season finale takes place from November 11-13.

Malaysian MotoGP:
1. Andrea Dovizioso
2. Valentino Rossi
3. Jorge Lorenzo
4. Hector Barbera
5. Loris Baz
6. Maverick Viñales
7. Alvaro Bautista
8. Jack Miller
9. Pol Espargaro
10. Danilo Petrucci
11. Marc Marquez
12. Eugene Laverty
13. Aleix Espargaro
14. Bradley Smith
15. Scott Redding
16. Hiroshi Aoyama
17. Stefan Bradl
18. Tito Rabat
Andrea Iannone
Cal Crutchlow
Yonny Hernandez